6 ISSUES FOR £6 Subscribe to Essex Life today CLICK HERE

In the open air

PUBLISHED: 11:38 03 February 2015 | UPDATED: 11:38 03 February 2015

Chanon_deValois_Photography

Chanon_deValois_Photography

Copyright © 2013 Chanon deValois

Paul and Lucy wanted an open-air wedding and braved the Essex countryside to celebrate their day at Creeksea Place

Chanon_deValois_PhotographyChanon_deValois_Photography

We wanted an outside ceremony, but being in the UK we knew it was a risky move. When we visited Creeksea Place we loved it.

I wanted a Mori Lee dress that fitted my figure but was also fun and showed my personality. Style number 1856 gave me everything I was looking for, but it was quite hard to track one down to try on.

I contacted head office and they gave me a list of stores that had them in. As soon as I tried it on I knew it was the one.

On the morning of the wedding, I woke early and was knocking on all my family’s rooms singing, ‘I’m getting married today’. However, it was clearly far too early for anyone apart from my brother, Bry Pryce, who waspolishing his Army kit.

Before I knew it I was waiting outside the walled garden ready to walk down the aisle as the harpist, Jharda Walker, started playing Song Bird by Eva Cassidy. I got very emotional and cried most of the way, then Paul turned around with a cheeky smile and I instantly stopped.

We made our way to the marquee just in time to avoid a downpour of rain but everyone was in good spirits and the harpist was singing away. It was the first time I had seen the table centres and I loved them — I had given the florist an idea of what I wanted and she delivered.

Our first dance was to Israel Kamakawiwo’ole Over the Rainbow. Paul doesn’t like being the centre of attention and he wanted everyone else on the dance floor as soon as possible.

Four special touches

To keep costs down I made my own invitations, menus and place cards.

I ordered some wicker hearts as favours for the female guests, however, I didn’t like the ribbon so I went to the craft shop and bought some to go with the colour scheme.

Initially I didn’t want a cake, but a colleague kindly made me cupcakes. They went down really well, so I was glad I had them in the end.

Despite the rain, we went out for pictures and got some great ones, it was worth braving the elements.

On the invitations I asked people to select a song they would dance to and gave the list to the DJ prior to the day. It worked really well and I hardly left the dance floor.

Top tip

Shop around for stationery and favours. I saved hundreds on my invitations and place cards as I made them myself and saved 50% on my favours from just shopping around online.

WHO DID WHAT

Photography: Chanon DeValois, Essex, 07768 078088, www.chanondevaloisphotography.com

Venue: Creeksea Place Manor, Burnham on Crouch, 01621 784535, www.creekseaplace.co.uk

Dress: Brides to Be, Reading, 0118 957 5115 , www.bridetobe.co.uk

Accessories: Shoes, Jimmy Choo, www.jimmychoo.com; head piece & veil, Brides to Be, as above

Bridesmaids’ dresses: Jessica Wright, www.lipsy.co.uk

Hair: Becca Elgar, Hair Styles by Bex, 07775 808880

Make-up: Lauren Christy, 07590 201671

Groom’s outfit: Perfectly Groomed, Windsor, 01753 583090, www.perfectlygroomed.co.uk

Stationery: Hand made by the bride

Flowers: Snowdrops, Staines upon Thames, 01784 255551, www.snowdropsflorist.com

Cake: Somerset Hughes (friend)

Catering:Limeberry Catering, Chelmsford, 01245 351114, www.limeberrycatering.co.uk

Venue dresser: Celebration Moments, Rayleigh Essex, 07952 841685, www.celebrationmoments.co.uk

Entertainment: Ultimate Entertainment, South Woodham Ferrers, 01245 328015, www.ultimateentertainment.org.uk; harpist, Jharda Walker, London, www.thesingingharpist.com

Videography: Unique Visuals, Essex, 01245 476508, www.uniquevisuals.co.uk/essexweddingvideo-home

Most Read

Latest from the Essex Life